Pages

Feb 27, 2009

No saving needed if you work with Déjà Vu!

The following question arrived by e-mail a short time ago from a new user of Déjà Vu X:
When I save the project file, is everything saved, or do I have to also save the translation memory file?
Here was my answer:
Save the project file? How do you do that? You won't find a Save command under the File menu. It's actually a database of sorts which autosaves every few seconds or so and every time you exit a segment cell. And if you have your settings done right, the segments are written to the TM immediately when they are marked finished (on Ctrl + down arrow). So no saving necessary - that's one of the best aspects of DVX compared with Trados or Star Transit. You can lose a lot of work in those if you forget to save. With DVX, the worst that can happen is you lose one segment in a crash. (Assuming the project file is not corrupted, and if it is, most of the info you need is in the TMs and termbases anyway!)
Addendum:

As it turns out from a later conversation, what she was really interested in was advice about backing up DVX resources. That's a very good question, which people answer very differently.

My personal approach is to save everything. This includes the project (DVPRJ) files. The "official" reason is that my understanding of German laws is that it is wise for me to archive this project resource, preferably in a manner compliant with auditing standards. The real reason is that it makes my life easier very often to be able to look up old projects as they were set up, re-check word counts and match statistics, rescue a lexicon that I forgot to export, etc. I find the project file to be more than the sum of its parts in many ways and worth saving or backing up.
Of course, other important resources like TMs and termbases should be backed up, but that goes without saying.

1 comment:

Notice to spammers: your locations are being traced and fed to the recreational target list for my new line of chemical weapon drones :-)